Paris

Recently my wife Mary Jane, my son Jonathon, and I were privileged to visit Paris with our dear friends of over forty years Margo and Jeff.  I have been intrigued by Paris most of my life. Having read about it and being an avowed lover of French movies I thought I was prepared.  Also I would be remiss to not mention Woody Allen’s classic Midnight in Paris.  The reality of actually being there was surreal.

To see the Eiffel Tower first in the evening light in its’ large majestic glory was overcoming.  You do not get the imposing effect from pictures.  Then to observe the grandeur of it totally lit against the Parisian sky at night is striking in the originality of the sight.

Life in Paris is on a different time-table than the United States.  There is a comfort with a slower more enjoyable and more human pace.  The elders walked with dignity of purpose while those with dogs seemed to have no greater calling than to care and wait patiently for their loving charge.  Each day I felt as if it were the weekend as chatting, laughing, eating, and drinking were the norm at the sidewalk cafe with no apparent greater purpose to attend to.

Margo is fluent in french.  What a beautiful language.  I only understand a few words but I could listen to it all day.  It was amazing how well Mary Jane and I were able communicate with the lovely people we interacted with and I must attribute our success to the universal language of humanity.  You see those that tell you the french are somehow less than friendly are misleading you.  On the contrary they are a thoughtful reflective people who compel you to re-think your hurried life style.

4 responses

  1. A lovely post. I understand that feeling of travel often feeling surreal. I can imagine Paris is indeed cause for that feeling. Thank you for sharing your experiences there.

    1. You are very welcome my friend. Paris was special and I plan on returning in 2016!😎

      1. Oh how wonderful is that!

  2. I visited Paris in 2008 as a quick travel through the city. It didn’t seem very different to me than any other European capital. I walked through some parts of it and was struck by the way richness and poor were so side-by-side in this great city of Napoleon. On the one hand there were all the high end boutiques, the cafes with its delicacies and its stylish inhabitants and on the other hand, just next door, were the poor people, struggling to make both ends meet. The contrast was so apparent. I thought to myself that things hadn’t perhaps changed much from the days before the French Revolution.
    I liked the way the city preserved its antiquities but I wished it would do something for its humanity.
    Susie

Leave a Reply

