Scotland

As we were sailing toward Scotland I noticed how chilly it was becoming.  I really had not thought about how far north Scotland is.  It’s only land border is with England and it runs for sixty miles.  The Atlantic Ocean borders the West coast and the North Sea the East coast.  It was about this time in our United Kingdom and Ireland Cruise that we encountered extremely rough seas.  Now I must confess that I was…to this point…extremely proud of my having never been afflicted with sea sickness.  In fact I looked upon those unfortunate souls with the little white patch behind their ear as somehow not cut out for true sea faring.  When the jostling began I greeted it with joy as it added some adventure to the holiday.  However I did wonder when it became apparent that I could not walk without holding on to a solid objects and when the nightly Broadway type show was cancelled for two consecutive nights for the safety of the performers.  As I lay in bed…on the first night of the heaving and swaying I felt the front of our little ship rise what seemed to me to be an interminable height…and then come crashing down with a tremendous jolt…time after time after time.  It was about this time that it occurred to me that ships do sink…even small ocean liners.  I reflected on the Titanic and Gilligan’s Island…and became extremely ill.  Or, as Jonathon remarked the next morning…he woke up and was somewhat concerned for our safety…prayed and returned to sleep.  The next morning I made my way slowly and carefully to the front desk for my free ration of sea sick pills or patches.  The somber attendant told me flatly that they were out and that I might try the on-board hospital.  As I entered humbly a stern nurse from South Africa instructed me that they were not a store and that if they gave me sea sick pills I would have to pay for their medical services…I replied whatever it takes…and thank you.

So, we landed in Scotland and were greeted by a wonderful jolly appearing gentleman in his kilt and playing a bagpipe.  As we made our way into the port shops area we again were greeted with very happy Scotsmen in kilts and rosy cheeked and offering us free whiskey.  As the Russian actor said on an old television commercial, “What a country!”  

I don not think that I have witnessed more verdant, majestic country in any of our travels.  It was simply beyond description.  DSC00454

DSC00457DSC00473DSC00479

One of our most memorable stops was at a little village.  The quaint shops and homes were delightful and the residents majestically colorful.  DSC00460

DSC00463DSC00462

As we were entering one of the lovely shops the proprietor welcomed us in while he continued a seemingly passionate discussion with another patron as I heard him say, “I do not care what the Pope says…I have never believed that religious stuff…I am a pagan.”  I was reminded of the well known movie the Wicker Man…and thought what an interesting country this would be to have a lengthy stay in.

We walked Edinburgh’s Royal Mile and toured Holyroodhouse which is the Queens’ official residence when she is in Scotland.  I was also fascinated by the ruins of Holyrood Abbey.  

The Ocean was especially beautiful as we made our way toward Scotland.  The combination of the clouds, the chilly temperatures, and the sunlight shining on the water gave a special air of mystery to this enigmatic land. DSC00541DSC00563 

 

 

8 responses

  1. This is great post. I loved and enjoyed so much. Thank you, with my love, nia

  2. Thank you so much. Your kind words are a great encouragement. Thanks for reading.

  3. Scotland is one of my favourite place to visit. I have been there 3 times already and would go back in a jiff…the people are wonderful and the scenery totally amazing. (Suzanne)

    1. I agree. Scotland is a magical mysterious land of enchantment. The people are wonderful. Thanks so much for reading.

  4. I have really relished your narration of your trip to Scotland and the history of the Palace of Holyrood House inherited by the current queen of the United Kingdom, Elizabeth II.

    As you well know, Scotland was on the brink of declaring its independece from the United Kingdom in a recent referendum. The people voted No, and that was it.

    Your photographs of this singular land enhance your blog post. Thank you so much for sharing and for making my day bright and full of meaning.

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

    1. Thanks so much Omar. Your kind comments are very much appreciated.

  5. I’m more jealous of this trip than any of your others. Scotland was to be our honeymoon when life got in the way… 🙂

    1. We would like to return. It was breathtaking beautiful and the Scots were very friendly!

Leave a Reply

