A New Mexico Adventure

Recently we were privileged to attend a lovely wedding in Arroyo Seco, New Mexico.  However I am getting ahead of myself as our plane landed in Albuquerque.  This southwestern city is simply beautiful.  We visited a house near the mountains and were spellbound by the beauty of the sun setting over the mountains and producing a red hew on their surface.  The city has a population of 558,000 and a peaceful demeanor that is captivating.  Not forsaking that Albuquerque is where the popular television show Breaking Bad was filmed.  My sister-in-law’s face lit up and her eyes sparkled when we arrived, as she had lived in New Mexico, and I could soon see why she was excited to return.  We stayed at the Hotel Nativo which had lovely southwestern decor and the friendliest staff I have encountered in some time.

The next morning it was time to begin our pilgrimage to Arroyo Seco by way of Santa Fe and Taos.  With a population of 67,947 the artistic haven of Santa Fe has a small community feel to it.  As we walked Canyon Road to visit the many shops I could not help but notice and feel the laid back…friendly…live and let live attitude of everyone we met.  Santa Fe is at an elevation of 7,260 feet and it was only up hill from there.  Santa Fe is the capital of New Mexico.

When we arrived at Arroyo Seco I noticed that I was somewhat short of breath.  I first thought that it was my continuing cold that I had been battling for over a week but then recalled that we were in the mountains.  Arroyo Seco’s elevation is 7,634 feet.  After a long day of site seeing and travel we sought out a good restaurant and found one that had delicious food and some of the best pie I have ever tasted.

I was seeking a turquoise ring to commemorate my New Mexico Adventure and found just the one at Claire’s Jewelry at Arroyo Seco at a very reasonable price.  Turquoise is the stone of the Navajo and although I did not know this at the time I purchased it…I found out shortly thereafter…and the significance of it grew exponentially.

The beauty of the wedding was breathtaking.  The poignant Navajo traditions that were part of the celebration were deep and moving.   Mary Jane and I were honored to be a part of the day.

I must leave you with some pictures of this beautiful country.  DSCN1285

DSCN1295DSCN1304

DSCN1314DSCN1305

New Mexico is called the Land of Enchantment and after visiting I heartily agree.

2 responses

  1. It looks absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

