The Promise of Spring

I just mowed my grass at the earliest date that I can remember, March 16!  I have never been a big fan of mowing…but have through the years formed a passing affection for the process.  There is something special about the smell of the first new mown grass of the season.  There is something special about spring.

Over the past few years of my retirement I have developed an appreciation for nature and its’ indescribable beauty.  Often I see parallels between nature and human life.  As I have become older…senior…which in school was to be desired…I have become aware of the chapters of human life.  What was important to me when I was twenty was very different from what I considered vital at forty.  Now, as I am approaching the grand door of sixty…I have time and inclination to focus on the beauty of life and my short chapter in its’ book.

DSCN2851

 

IMG_1305PICT0056

Spring illustrates the promise of the renewal of life in all of its’ splendor.  The same could be said for our human life in that whatever comes our way…tomorrow is another day.  While you have life…you have hope and dreams that can still be realized.  Stopping is not an option.  The miracle of life must be savored and developed until the moment that it ends…and then much as the slowing and hibernation and death of nature in autumn and winter…so comes the promise of new life…in the spring.

PICT0347.JPGDSCN1273DSCN2914DSC00479DSCN0012

18 responses

  1. I don’t know that I ever truly appreciated the beauty and rebirth of Spring until my daughter was born in that season last year. She opened my eyes to how beautiful life can be, and now I look forward to seeing the world in bloom with her!

    1. What a lovely reason to believe in the magic of spring.

  2. Hi there, thank you for your recent follow ☺
    What a wonderful, positive post this is! I’m looking forward to reading more ☺

    1. Thank you my friend. I am looking forward to reading your posts as well! 😃

  3. Hope you are having a beautiful Spring, Bjay 🙂 🙂

    1. Thank you my friend. It has been lovely. 😃

  4. Those are awesome shots! I wasn’t expecting the terrain near the end! I’ll dig deeper and find out where these are coming from. 🙂

    1. The land shot is Scotland and the Ocean is off Honolulu, Hawaii.

      1. Thanks for the response! Hawaii and Scotland are on my list to go!

      2. Both are absolutely stunning! We plan on returning to Scotland later this year.

      3. Bring me a bottle! Thanks! lol

      4. The Scots met us as we disembarked from a cruise with free whisky. 😉

      5. Free whisky is a dream!

  5. Loved this post and look forward to more. Thank you for choosing to follow my blog.

    1. Thank you for your kind comment. I look forward to your posts as well! 😃

  6. Love your analogies and parallels between nature and human life. I am approaching the sixties myself and I can really identify with this.

    As of last week we were still getting snow, but the days are getting warmer and spring is on its way in Canada! 🙂

    1. Thank you my friend! My wife and I have visited both Toronto and Montreal. Both were very beautiful and extremely interesting. 😃

Leave a Reply

