Old Friends

The concept of time travel has always fascinated me.  The idea that if Einstein’s Theory was correct time may indeed be the fourth dimension.  Quantum Physics is mind expanding.  I wonder how I missed it when I was in school.

When I retired I found that I had the time to connect with some old friends that I had not seen or communicated with in many years.  When Mary Jane and I re-connected with  our friends from the early seventies, Margo and Jeff, it was as if we had traveled in time.  Our former association and friendship was as if there had been no gap of twenty-five years.  We have traveled with them on several occasions and thoroughly enjoyed their company!

Facebook is a wonderful vehicle for bringing old friends together!  I was able to communicate with my old friend Jim A. from our school days.  He is such and nice person and someone that I have always admired.  We have talked about our mutual affection for target shooting.

Jane B. often comments on my Facebook posts and how she enjoys them.  I can remember her from my first day of first grade along with Debbie C.  They were so nice to me and made me feel welcome in the beginnings of my education experience…and I had more than a little trepidation at the outset having not attended kindergarten and recently moving from Chicago and my mother and father experiencing domestic problems and shortly after divorcing.

Recently I have communicated with my old friend Jeff D.  Jeff has experienced some serious health issues.  However his attitude is inspiring!  Jeff is one of my church friends from the early seventies.  Whatever Jeff tells me…I take to the Bank…as the old saying goes.  As we talk in 2016 Jeff seems to me just as he did over forty years ago…a very sincere, candid, caring individual.  Jeff is a Marine veteran.  I have such great respect for the Marines and the high standard of excellence that they uphold.  Jeff is wonderful example of the excellence of the Marines!

As I talk with these old friends I am transported back to our origins…to the feelings…and thoughts and joys of that time.

I have often heard it said that just prior to a persons death…that their life flashes before their eyes…I can believe that this is the case.  I think that our life experience is a seamless narrative from birth to death.

IMG_0841CA141CC1-C1BB-4658-84FA-B8CE117C638BC6BDFE78-7F48-482F-BE7E-ED378171F800147E81C3-7667-48EE-82EB-67D807E0F727

 

 

5 responses

  1. Beautiful post! Nostalgic, true and most importantly sincere. Thanks for the share 😊

    1. Thanks so much for your kind comments! 😃

      1. Most welcome & have a happy weekend 😃

Leave a Reply

