“This is all an Elaborate Hoax”

Shortly before his death the famed film critic Roger Ebert wrote a note to his wife Chaz that said, “this is all an elaborate hoax.”  When she asked what was a hoax, he responded that he was talking about, “this world, this place…he said it was all an illusion.”  During the week before he died Roger talked to Chaz about visiting a place with, “a vastness that you cannot even imagine.  It was a place where the past, present, and future were all happening at once.”

The interesting fact regarding Mr. Ebert was that for much of his life he was an atheist.

Recently I was watching the weekly television show on the National Geographic channel entitled the Story of God, with Morgan Freeman as the host of the program.  On the first episode Mr. Freeman was interviewing a physician who had studied numerous after death experiences.  This physician stated categorically that there is solid evidence that people who have clinically died, including no brain function, upon being resuscitated report their awareness beyond their physical body.

Public speaker Anita Moorjani told Maria Shriver on the Today show, “I believe that I died, yes-that I crossed over into the afterlife and back’ and she went onto say it was like, ‘ being in a really unlimited space and time.”  Ms. Moorjani is the author of the book ‘Dying to be Me.’

I have been a member of the Christian faith for most of my life.  The promise of an after life is inherent in Christ’s teachings.  Many of the world’s religions promise either an after life or a reoccurrence of another earthly one.

The popular movie The Matrix had the astounding proposition that much of what the characters were experiencing was computer generated and not their actual lives at all.

I have often heard it said regarding the prospect of an after life that people hope there is one…but no one has ever returned to tell us if it really exists.  Perhaps they have…and we were not listening?

One of my good friends and work colleagues for many years told me that he was a christian primarily because he did not want to go to hell.

Do we really accept that the majesty of the universe was simply a random chemical reaction?

In the play, As you Like It, William Shakespeare wrote, “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players; They have their exits and their entrances, And one man in his time plays many parts…”

“And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, Today shalt thou be with me in paradise.” Luke 23:43 KJV

What do you think?  Have you had an after life experience?  Do you know someone who has had such an experience?

DSCN0012

 

DSCN2285

32538D0A-6F26-41C0-8088-868BA9BC542AB40666FD-0B5A-434D-9D92-65711E0D70E9

17 responses

  1. I like to think there is somewhere out there,that death is not the end 😉

    1. I have always believed that also. 😃

  2. I do believe in an afterlife, although I admit that I’m not at all sure what it will be like. A friend once suggested that we are already eternal beings, and that our time on this earth is what is temporary….

    1. I do as well. Your friend’s suggestion is intriguing! 😃

  3. I believe there is something, I can’t believe we go from all seeing and thinking to nothing….

  4. Have not had an after life experience but I have had my long dead ancestors contact me from beyond specifically my Great, Great Grandfather William Henry Halstead who fought with the 29th Colored Regiment Ct in the Civil War. That was quite an experience!!

    1. That is an inspiring account! This must have been very special for you?

  5. i believe there is a place we are destined for after this life,if it were not so,the essence of religion wouldn’t make sense at all,neither the righteous living

    1. I believe that as well!

  6. Interesting piece. I believe that our time on earth is a testing time. I firmly believe in an afterlife although I don’t know exactly what it is. In science, it’s been said that things appearing solid to us are not. It’s an illusion. — Suzanne

    1. Thank you so much! I throughly enjoy some of the quantum physics theories. I agree that this life is a test…perhaps shadow of things to come?

  7. It’s possible there is more, but I sort of doubt it. I do believe the people who report awareness outside the body during the approach of death. I think it’s the mind’s work, not an actual place we go after death. I think this life and this planet are all the heaven we have. Regarding matrix-like matters, it is quite possible the universe has a creator(s) but that it (they?) is nothing like our conception of God.

    1. I have often thought that we Christians might not recognize Christ if he came into our church and set next us? I believe in a creator and life after death…but I truly think human understanding falls far short of the reality. I have good friends who are atheist or agnostic and I respect their forthright honesty.

  8. Even though I have always been a Christian, I was quite surprised when my grandmother aged 92 described her out of body experience. Then a friend told me her grandmother described how she was flying over the Jordan River as she died. Some people discount such stories but I find a lot of comfort in them.

    1. I find these accounts comforting as well. I think that there is a profound reality in these experiences. Thank you so much for sharing! 😃

Leave a Reply

