May’s Magical Moment

I and my family have been privileged to join my dear brother and sister in law at Miramar Beach, near Destin, Florida, for the past six years.  The first year that I was there I enjoyed the beauty of the silica white sand beach from the comfort of my green beach chair under a large green umbrella.  This was the epitome of beach enjoyment that my closeted non-beach mind could conceive!

In 2013 I haltingly ventured into the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and was immediately taken back to my childhood swimming days with my mother at Pounds Hollow…our nearby “swimming Hole.”  This experience added an extraordinary facet to my appreciation of my visit to the beach!

This year, my sixth year visiting the beautiful white sands of Miramar beach, I struck out on beach walks!  I had watched my brother in law, who I think of as my brother, do this every year that I had been with him.  I noticed that he seemed to throughly enjoy the experience.  I marveled at his stamina and dedication!  Now, after some serious contemplation…over several years…I was enthralled with the pleasure of walking the beach!

I have returned home and one of my Facebook friends welcomed me back to reality.  As I thought about her statement…she is correct.  There is a specialness to a vacation and there is a beautiful snapshot of joy and contentment in being with wonderful family and friends to enjoy the shared experience with!

My sister in law has the most wonderful sons and families!  We all blended seamlessly and I truly was sorry when our time together ended.

The ocean has a mesmerizing effect on me.  When I am around it…or watching it…I am transfixed and empowered and energized!

IMG_23815CD6F848-5015-4191-AED0-1686EC4B1138 38C35BB3B-095B-46BB-9301-7F76D6AC810E 462F0D2DA-7DA8-4AF1-BBF1-F8A0A0CACCE7952F6A32-01D4-4EE8-BCA0-1A19AFC664F1 11IMG_2408 3IMG_2431 2IMG_2457 9IMG_2468IMG_2346IMG_2229IMG_2248I wonder if when we leave this life and look back on it …that it will finally dawn on us that what we experienced was indeed a magical moment!

14 responses

  1. For those who love the beach, this must be Heaven. 🙂

    1. It is quite enjoyable. 🌞

  2. Our favorite beach destination is always a beach on the Gulf Coast…lovely pictures and I too believe that there are “magical moments” on each beach we visit. Last year was Seagrove Beach, near Destin. Our all time favorite is Sanibel Island. Enjoy your memories until next time! Thanks for sharing!

    1. We have a friend who visits Sanibel Island regularly. The Gulf Coast is beautiful! Thank you for your kind words. 😃

  3. Beautiful sea beach scapes!! 👍👍👍Thanks for sharing😊

    1. You are most welcome! Thank you for your kind words. 😃

  4. I have the same kind of feeling around the sea. I can feel the joy in your photos. 🙂
    You’ll be ‘joining’ me in a beach walk soon.

    1. Thank you my friend. I am looking forward to the journey! 🌞🏖

  5. Beautiful ocean water colors! Nothing like the beach…any beach!

    1. Thank you my friend. I agree! 🌞

  6. Destin is one of my favorite places. Lots of good memories there. Thank you for reading and following my blog.
    Peace,
    Cliff

    1. Thank you Cliff. I am looking forward to you posts! 🌞

  7. Thank you for the journey to the beach. Reminded me of my sitting by the shore days letting the waves roll me about.

    1. You are most welcome! Thank you for joining me on the journey! 🌞🏖

Leave a Reply

