Oskar Schindler’s Enamel Factory

Please enjoy a wonderful blog by Jo!

restlessjo

IMG_6853

What do you do when an occupying force moves into your beautiful city?  You resist, of course.  Just how mightily the Poles resisted Nazi occupation was made abundantly clear to me at Oskar Schindler’s Enamel Factory.

It was a damp morning in Kraków, but I didn’t want to waste one of my few remaining days in the city.  I had an imperfect understanding of the location of Schindler’s Factory, but I alighted from the tram, south of the river, and began my search.  I knew that I was in the right vicinity when I entered a huge square, full of sculpted seats and a sad photographic display in black and white. Plac Bohaterów Getta (Ghetto Heroes Square) commemorates the Polish Jews who were imprisoned and died in the Kraków Ghetto between 1941 and 1943.

Oskar Schindler was a Nazi party member and a war profiteer, who earned the gratitude…

View original post 864 more words

3 responses

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog, BJay 🙂

    1. You are most welcome my friend! 🌞

  2. Oh, nice to hear in Internet a posts about Poland and my town. I really appreciate that You’re interested in this history. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

