In Search of Dad

I can remember my Father carrying me on his shoulders and my laughing with the glee of a four year old.  When he would come home from work he would greet me as if I was the most important person in the world.  I rode between he and my Mother on his Harley Davidson motorcycle.  He looked mysterious and cool with his leather jacket and motorcycle hat.  I learned years later from my mother that he regularly carried a gun.

IMG_0011

When I was six years old my Mom and Dad divorced.  I never saw him again.

Aaron and Jonathon are the light of Mary Jane’s and my life!  Nothing has given us more joy than their presence in our lives!  When they and their Mother are happy and well…I am at peace.

Being a Father frightened me at first…I so desperately wanted to be a good one.  The best remedy for the early Dad Jitters is just to dive in…immersion…and let the key ingredient be love.

I often lamented in the early years that my sons did not come with a manual or book of directions.  But then again, what is the fun in that?

I had a minister…many years ago…that took a fatherly interest in me and several of my church friends.  Many of the lessons and admonishments that he shared with me have helped me throughout my life.

This was Dad's birthday. He was 57. Taken in Tennessee

This was Dad’s birthday. He was 57. Taken in Tennessee

Springfield, Ohio "69"

Springfield, Ohio “69”

IMG_2611IMG_2173I wonder if we do not have an innate human desire to find our Heavenly Dad…Father…Creator?

DSC00527IMG_2636.JPGIMG_2642 2IMG_2650

9 responses

  1. Sorry you did not get to see your dad after your parents divorced! But you turned out as a great dad to your children. You did good. Happy belated father’s day!!😊

    1. Thank you for your kind words! 😃

      1. Most welcome 🙂 stay as always ..a cool dad!!😊

  2. Hard to lose your Dad before you could even get to know him, Bjay. It’s never easy to understand how someone can just walk away. Your Mum seems to have done a pretty good job though, and I can see you’re a great Dad. 🙂

    1. Thank you my friend! 😃

  3. Sad to know how u never got to see ur dad after the divorce!

    Losing the close ones; particularly family member or a created!
    Is a worst thing ever!

    But ur mom did great job!
    u too turned out to be a responsible dad!

    cheers!

    happy Dad’s day! (be-lated)

    1. Thank you so much! 😃

  4. My dad never knew his dad. He and his brother were born about 12 months apart. It was too much and he abandoned the family. My uncle seemed ok, but my dad really struggled with it. My dad’s relationship with the Lord was about as good….I don’t think he every thought the Lord could love him. But I know dad is in Heaven as he told me he did accept Jesus as his Lord and Savior. My mother-in-law’s dad abandoned his three children right after his young wife died. She never forgave him and now at age 95, is still bitter and angry! Thankfully her two sons and almost all her grandchildren know the Lord and are praying for her!
    It’s so hard for you, but you can help point your children to the Lord as you are doing!

    1. Thank you my friend. 🌞

Leave a Reply

