What Comes Next?

I heard a news commentator say this morning, with some unrealized optimism, that perhaps the Presidential Debates that begin tomorrow night will at long last be the beginning of a “serious Presidential Contest.”

The Los Angeles Times states that, “Scope of Trump’s falsehoods unprecedented for a modern presidential candidate.”

Stephen King says, “Trump Presidency scares me to death.”

Former President George H.W. Bush has said that he will vote for Hillary Clinton.

The Washington Post says that Donald Trump,” is mounting a campaign of snarl and sneer, not substance.”

The Washington Post goes on to say, “He is desperate for affirmation but contemptuous of others’ views.  He also is contemptuous of fact.  Throughout the campaign he has unspooled one lie after another-that Muslims in New Jersey celebrated after 9/11, that his tax cut plan would not worsen the deficit, that he opposed the Iraq War before it started, and when confronted with contrary evidence he simply repeated the lie.  It is impossible to know wether he convinces himself of his own untruths or knows that he is wrong and does not care.”

It has been my misfortune to be associated with and at times be under the authority of persons who suffered from a narcissistic personality…megalomania.  They were not pleasant experiences.

Traits of megalomania consist in part of, according to Meriam Webster Dictionary: “a mania of great or grandiose performance.  A delusional mental disorder that is marked by feelings of personal omnipotence and grandeur.”

After having been a manager of a large organization for twenty-five years I can attest that good job performance relies upon a steady adherence to the fundamentals of the position that have been tested by time and historically produced good results.

This is not only an unprecedented Presidential Election but could also be a signpost of the beginning of the end for our beloved country and the bedrock principles of inclusion…’freedom of speech…freedom of religion…freedom of fear…and very likely freedom from want,’ that former President Franklin D. Roosevelt enunciated so beautifully during the extremely dark days of his Presidency!

So many Americans feel left out by our elected officials, including me, and seek leaders that will work for our interest rather than their own.  I get it!  We urn for positive change.  This is why Senator Bernie Sander’s message resonated so strongly with so many!

The ‘measure’ that I have used throughout my life and my long career at Southern Illinois University was a statement that my friend and former Chancellor Jo Ann Agersinger said regarding me in a letter she wrote on my behalf many years ago when referring to my department, “Jay has built a house for all peoples.”  I fall far short of being worthy of those kind words…but I… and we must first…care about others.

“A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, the ye also love one another.  By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.”  John 13:34 and 35   KJV

dscn4804

DSCN4805img_3681One of my favorite shows is the original Star Trek.  Mr. Spock was my favorite character.  Mr. Spock’s trademark saying when confronted with statements or situations that did not make sense was that they were not logical.  Synonyms for logical are :reasoned, well reasoned, reasonable, rational, sound, cogent, well thought out, and valid.  When we disregard any standard for evaluating political speech…Mr. Spock would be disappointed.

12 responses

    1. Thank you so much. 😃

  1. Great post, and yes, we must love rather than fear. Love begets love, fear begets fear.

    1. Thank you my friend. You are so very right! 🌞

  2. Reblogged this on that little voice and commented:
    Thanks to Jay at the Happy Traveler for this post. We owe it to ourselves, our country, and the world to vote for caring and love over fear, hate and divisiveness.

    1. I am humbled by your kindness.

  3. This election campaign has been very trying…I think for all of us… But, I believe that in November, Americans will vote their conscience, reiterating the character of our nation.

    1. That is my heartfelt hope. 🌞

  4. A great post. Needed. In Europe and Sweden we can hardly believe this is true…a man like Trump…frightening. And I, a woman, cannot believe that any woman in the world will vote for him. Unbelievable. We hope the good, common sense will lead to the best.

    1. Thank you my friend. He is frightening! I find it incredible that women would vote for him. I believe that people across our planet are very concerned about the ramifications of a Trump Presidency.

Leave a Reply

