Abraham the Friend of God

“Abraham, originally Abram, is the first of the three patriarchs of Judaism.  His story is a center piece of all Abrahamic religions and Abraham plays a prominent role as an example of faith in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam,” according to Wikipedia.

“And he said, Take now thy son, thine only son Isaac, whom thou loves, and get thee into the land of Moriah; and offer him there for a burnt offering upon one of the mountains which I will tell thee of.”   Genesis 22:2   KJV

“Ishmael is a figure in the Tanakh and Qur’an and was Abraham’s first son according to Jews, Christians, and Muslims.  Ishmael was born to Abraham’s and Sarah’s handmaiden Hagar (Genesis 16:3).  According to the Genesis account, he died at the age of 137 (Genesis 25:17),” according to Wikipedia.

Abraham has always been a fascinating historical figure to me.  To think that history illustrates that he is central to Judaism, Islam, and Christianity!

Although I have been a Christian for most of my life…Judaism has captivated my attention on many occasions.  Just today I saw a Hasidic family on campus and I admired their dedication to their faith.

As I have noted in previous blogs I have a good friend who worked in my office several years ago who is Muslim.  Alfie was and is an inspiration to me in his dedication to prayer and his peaceful faith…and the good work that it has accomplished in his life.

My friend of over 45 years, Jeff, is of Jewish lineage but is a Christian…a Jew for Jesus.  His love of his birthright and his connection to it is like nothing that I have ever seen…it is inspiring!  Yet, he became a Christian at a young age…and his faith in Christ transformed his life.

I encounter persons of the Muslim faith almost every time I am away from my house..in our University Town.  They are peaceful and lovely people…who respond to kindness with a warm and inclusive heart.

“Therefore it is of faith, that it might be by grace; to the end the promise might be sure to all the seed; not to that only which is of the law, but to that also which is of the faith of Abraham; who is the father of us all.”   Romans 4:16   KJV

img_3494

dscn4716DSCN1184thMalala Yousafzaiimg_4387-2This is a Tom Clark artistic creation entitled Abraham.  “The story of Abraham is the story of faith.  I have chosen to sculpt Abraham at a period in his life rarely depicted by the classic religious painters and sculptors.  It is the beginning of the journey that has been called ‘Israel’s first great theological epic,’  (…) I have included a scroll of Genesis 17: 1-8, in which God bestows a new name upon his servant: ‘But thy name shall be Abraham, for a father of many nations have I made thee.’  My statue seeks to show the calling of this very human man who is known as the ‘Patriarch of Israel,’ and who remains one of the greatest symbols of faith  for Christian, Judaic and Islamic believers.”  Tom Clark

img_4384img_4385Perhaps we should all think about the origins of our faiths and the one God that we pray to?

th-5IMG_0346

2 responses

  1. Love the sculptor and ur message!!!

    1. Thank you my friend. 😃

Leave a Reply

