The Result

After the most acrimonious presidential campaign in my lifetime Donald Trump is the President Elect of the United States.  This result was something that the political pundits and pollsters almost universally did not forecast.

Mary Jane and I had dinner, the other evening, with a couple who are dear friends of ours.  I stated that irrespective of what the polls were showing… Donald Trump could win.  I was going to go on to say that he could win, and that he may win handily.  I did not make the final statement as my friend, who I deeply respect, told me that there was no way Trump would experience a persuading win due to the democratic Blue Wall.

I have believed since the President Elect first appeared on the political scene…riding down the escalator at Trump Tower…to announce his candidacy for the presidency…that he indeed could win!

Millions of people in the United States are hurting.  They are out of work or underemployed.  The Affordable Care Act has been a godsend to many poor people and a nightmare to much of the middle class.

Many feel that their elected representatives do not listen to them…with good reason…because they do not.

The CNN political commentator, Van Jones, gave a beautiful and frightening description of the fear and trepidation that is now in the hearts of African Americans, Latinos, Women, Muslims and the disabled…the fear of a Bully with power!

The Tableau beginning today,…will be painted of a Trump presidency.  Mr. President Elect…bring us together…don’t divide us by our fears…our bias…ask us to be our better selves…

Our country is a melting pot.  What has made us great is our inclusiveness.  Now we are praying for our elected leader.  We want our President Elect to succeed.  We want him to listen to us…African Americans…Muslims…Latinos…Women…the Disabled…American Indians…it will take all of us to…as it always has… make American Great Again!

Mr. President Elect…you can choose to listen to the haters…the prejudiced…the xenophobic…the misogynist… because their voices were loud during the campaign.  Or, you can seek greatness by hearing the voice of the downtrodden.  Their voices are not as loud at times…but…to hear them…is the mark of a great leader.

IMG_2229

15 responses

  1. Thank you for your words of encouragement. I think everyone, even the people who voted for Mr. Trump are apprehensive about what this will mean for our country. I too am filled with fear, disappointment, and sadness. I can only hope that he can become a great leader.

    1. Thank you my friend for your kind comments. We are in uncharted waters.

  2. Thank you for your words, it’s the best and most encouraging I have heard so far since before and after the election. I hope it us widely heard.

    1. Thank you so much! 😊

  3. winds r changing n hopefully it turns out positive for the United states

      1. everything turns out to b gold for america and other countries too.. may we all rise up together for the eradication of poverty ,terrorism n women upliftment all across the globe

      2. Well said my friend! I heartily agree!

  4. I’m terribly disappointed with the outcome of this election because for better or worse, it will have consequences for people all over the world. So wrong.

    1. I am also very disappointed. The words used, by the now President Elect, were the most hurtful, against many people, that I have ever heard. Words matter…and now I am frightened about those hurtful words being brought to fruition!

  5. A good honest well written piece. I take inclusiveness for granted in lil red dot. I feel your fears. I sincerely hope that Trump will do a good job for America. God bless America and make it great again and drive world economy to a new high!

    1. Thank you my friend! 🌞

  6. A thoughtful perspective well written. Thanks for sharing. Brick

    1. Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

