Family

Last Sunday we had a lovely Mother’s Day Outing, including a great dinner and a little shopping.  All was well and we were grateful for each others company.  I really did not think of those who have less than I or of those who were suffering on what should be a happy day.

IMG_1104

Mary Jane and I have been delivering Meals on Wheels for a little over three years.  Usually I do the driving and she goes up to the door with the meals.  Today, however, I needed to assist her due to there being additional items to carry.  When I saw the physical condition of some of the Meal Recipients I was saddened.  Some with terribly swollen feet and legs…blackened skin.  Others with Neuromuscular disorders…and yet so friendly and grateful for our bringing them their lunch.

IMG_1122

During our visit to Edinburgh, Scotland, last July, we saw a comedian who’s show was based on his suffering from Depression.  Some of the content was extremely dark.  And, yet, I had an admiration for this gentleman…and his valiant battle to rage against the darkness.

IMG_0297 2

I have known and been friends with many wonderful people…who have throughout their lives had very little material possessions.  Not because they were lazy or unambitious…they were indeed hard workers.  Many of these people are serious dedicated Christians.

We are taught, that if we care for our family…our children and our spouse…we are good people.

Is our nuclear family…our blood relatives…the only family that we need worry about?

D0EB7BC0-B311-4C84-A9A5-7EA61C773364

“This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.”   John 15:12   KJV

When we choose to shut our eyes to the suffering of our fellow human family members…in the secure knowledge…but for the grace of God go I…do we not realize that God has grace for the person that we are comparing ourselves to?

It seems that it is somewhat in our nature to compare our lot in life with those who are less fortunate?

God’s ‘Human Experiment’ goes by quickly…or as the Bible says…’My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle, and are spent without hope.’   Job 7:6   KJV

IMG_1130

So we spend our days worrying about acquiring more money, although I read to day that, ‘money is numbers and numbers are infinite…thus we never have enough.’

Or, we Americans seek our right as outlined in the Declaration of Independence…for ‘The Pursuit of Happiness.’

IMG_1285

A homeless woman shook my hand at church recently…and she looked at me and smiled…I felt peace and contentment…and happiness.

IMG_2153

6 responses

  1. It is sometimes easy to forget that caring is not just within our family or circle of friends with so much going on in our respective lives. This post is a good reminder to help whenever we can to whoever needs it. 😊

    1. Thank you my friend for your kind words. 🌞

  2. Beautiful post and I feel what you have expressed. This is why I serve a community of seniors too. Marginalised, old, ignored or ill…we will all age but It would be nice if all aged gracefully and with diginity. Kudos to you and Mary Anne for serving meals on wheels. Blessings and Garfield Hugs to both🐾🐾💕💕

    1. Thank you my friend. I appreciate your kind words. Thank you for your service! 🌞🌻🌼🌷💐

  3. Thank you for serving meals on wheels and for being an active example of kindness to follow.

    1. Thank you my friend. 🌞

Leave a Reply

