Brown Skinned and British – #Manchester

Please enjoy this wonderful writing from my friend Ritu.

But I Smile Anyway...

Image from Google

I’m brown skinned and British
That’s what I am
Don’t label me by colour
Just see me, if you can
Don’t question my religion
Beliefs don’t mean a thing
Cos in the grander scheme of life
I’m jus’ a human being
So I may pray quite differently
And eat other types of food
But to label me a terrorist
You know that’s kinda rude
Get to know me, talk to me
And then I guess you’ll see
That there ain’t no difference
Between you an’ me
We need to live in harmony
And celebrate our quirks
Jus’ please don’t judge me
By the deeds of other jerks

Ritu 2015

IMG_20170507_213005_358

I’m lucky I haven’t experienced racism because of the acts of terrorism around the world, but I know of many innocent people who have been labelled, who have suffered because of their colour, and beliefs… Beliefs that…

View original post 112 more words

2 responses

  1. Thank you so much xxx

Leave a Reply

