Old Colleagues

I was walking Campus today…as I often do…when I happened upon two of my colleagues from years gone by.  I was pleased that they spoke to me…as often they seem not to recognize me when I wave or call out to them.

IMG_2663 2

We enjoyed a lovely chat.  Both of these women…I hired into the department that I headed for twenty-five years.  I also promoted them through the ranks…and indeed I am responsible for the management jobs that they have held since I retired at the conclusion of 2010.

IMG_2625

We talked about the fact that Building Services had not received any lay-offs in the group of eighty people, last week.  One of them told me that she had been instrumental in this protection of jobs.  I commended her for it.

IMG_2665 5.JPG

I do know that many people have been consumed with the lessening of lay-offs across Campus and the Tabling of plans to outsource.

IMG_2670 2

Elizabeth Cheek, my friend and colleague for many years…and the Vice President of the Civil Service Council has worked tirelessly on behalf of all Civil Service Staff as has Tony Travelstead, the President of the Council.

IMG_2674 2

I grieve for the loss of jobs in the Physical Plant Crafts…they need their jobs as much as any Civil Service Employee.

IMG_2677

Brad Dillard, the Director of Plant and Service Operations, is as compassionate and caring Director as I have ever know…and I have known all of them since 1978.

I can say that when people that you called your friends…and that you admired and that you wanted the best for…it hurts…a little…to hear of they’re disparaging remarks…but as my friend and colleague Jody said of me, many years ago, ‘we can not tell who is your friend and who is your enemy, Jay, by the way that you treat them…it seems that you  treat your enemies better than your friends…at times.’

IMG_2730

 

5 responses

  1. Love the photos. 🙂

    1. Thank you my friend. 🤠

      1. You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. So true about not knowing who your friends truly are. Found that out the hard way. However, the lesson here is to always take the high road. Thanks Jay.

    1. Thank you my friend. 😉

Leave a Reply

