Father’s Day

In the blink of an eye…another Father’s Day has rolled around.

I reflect, each year at this time, about my Father, who I did not see again after the age of six.

IMG_0011

I remember, fondly, Dad carrying me on his shoulders and laughing and I felt I was the whole world to him.

Springfield, Ohio "69"

Springfield, Ohio “69”

The above photo is of Dad and my sister Tammy…after he and my mother divorced.  I have spoken with Tammy several times.  She is a lovely and sweet person…and I hope to meet her soon.

Early in 2012 I received a great gift by discovering my long lost brothers and sisters.  Tammy emailed me and said that she was looking for her brother, Bradley Jay Brooks.  She had a picture on the email, but it did not print.  Later that day I received a hard copy, through the mail, of the same letter with my childhood picture on it.  I was ecstatic to not only discover that I had brothers and sisters…but that they wanted to meet me!

Since then I have communicated often with my sister Jolene, who is simply wonderful.

Also my brother Bill, who sounds on the telephone, just like I remember Dad sounding.

And, I have had the good fortune to meet and spend time with my brother Brock.  When I sit and listen to him speak…or look at him…or watch his actions…it is like looking in a mirror.  Brock has a wonderful family.  His lovely wife, Marcy, and his two outstanding children, Jeb and Jamie.

We spent time together in Gatlinburg, Tennessee this past April.  I am ready to go again!

IMG_1351

IMG_1050

I have also communicated with my sisters Amber and Billie.  We were able to enjoy a dinner with Billie at Cunetto’s House of Pasta earlier this year.  What a lovely lady…and we have the same nose!

img_4707

My sons, Aaron and Jonathon, are the light of my life!  With them and their tremendous mother, Mary Jane, I have had nothing but blue sky and infinite horizons!

IMG_2350 2

And, so we return to the same restaurant that we had Father’s Day Dinner last year…when something is perfect…why not repeat it!

DSC00471

 

 

5 responses

  1. Happy Father’s Day! Glad you caught up with family!! Family reunions are always great💕👍☺

    1. Thank you my friend. Yes, family reunions are wonderful! 🌞

    1. Thank you my friend for the re-blog. 🤠

Leave a Reply

