Subtle Changes

 

Everything seemed fine…until the flower store. I had entered it on

numerous occasions and been waited upon expeditiously. The store was a

ten foot by ten foot room, that was filled with lovely live flower

arrangements and commemorative statues and Grave Plaques that had

beautiful life sentiments inscribed on them.

IMG_1984 2

There were two people ahead of me and they were engaged in serious conversation regarding their upcoming wedding. I not only was enjoying their conversation with the shop proprietor but also the ambiance of the little, locally owned, emporium.
As I read the various inscriptions on the Commemorative Graveside Markers and enjoyed the pleasant aroma of the fleshly cut flowers…I speculated on what it must feel like to die?

D0EB7BC0-B311-4C84-A9A5-7EA61C773364
You know, I am not a maudlin person…but I have observed that everyone seems to ‘pass away’ as we like to say.

dscn5420
Perhaps, there is no appreciable change in atmosphere or location or perception when the great and dreaded event of our life…finally happens?
More people entered the store..I made eye contact with the owner while he waited on the original wedding decoration customers…and now he proceeded to wait on the people that had entered after me. Could it be that I had ‘passed away’…and no one had told me?
Was I invisible?

DSCN4998
How many people, in our world,…feel just the way that I did in that little flower store.

img_3392
People that are in front of our politicians and power brokers and movers and shakers eyes…and yet are not seen or considered or their needs met?
Earlier, a terrible tragedy occurred in north London, where a man drove his white van into a crowd of Muslim people as they exited a Mosque after evening prayers. This individual has caused the death of one man and injury of ten people. The driver is said to have been heard screaming, ‘I am going to kill all Muslims.’
A devastating fire occurred in London, last week, at the Grenfell Tower. Seventy nine Tower Occupants are presumed dead. The towering inferno was built in the 1970’s and never fitted with a sprinkler system.

IMG_0346
In the United States our President proposes slashing Medicaid and the Meals on Wheels Program…both which serve the poor of our land.
We were in Cape Girardeau, Missouri this past Saturday for an early Father’s Day Dinner. As we browsed through the many Antique Shops near the river…I observed a man enter more than one of the stores, that we were in, to inquire if the owner was interested in buying a used tricycle for $3.00. All answered no.

IMG_0398
As Jonathon and I were taking some items, that we had purchased, back to our car, a man asked us if we could give him a quarter…and then apologized for asking…saying that he and his wife were so poor that they had been brought to virtually begging.

palermo_rosalia_lombardo
‘For I was hungry, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw thee naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee? Then shall he answer unto them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me.’ Matthew 25: 42 – 45 KJV

32538D0A-6F26-41C0-8088-868BA9BC542A

 

 

2 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this. Really heartfelt. The deaths UK has been facing is sad and for that person to step up to you to ask for a quarter is indeed even sadder! Sigh….I hope the world gets better for the downfallen and help them back to their feet. Blessings and Garfield hugs🤗

    1. Thank you my friend. Yes, the tragedies that have recently occurred in the United Kingdom, of late, have been horrific.

      The desperation of the marginalized in our society…is unbelievably sad.

Leave a Reply

