Listen to the Music

I am sitting in my screened in porch and listening to the most lovely music.  The birds are warbling a most melodious tune.

IMG_0923 2

At night, the frogs in our pond, croak to each other in a syncopated rhythm.  When we first moved to our ‘new house’…which is now sixteen years old…I could not believe our good fortune as I listened to the songs of the pond!

IMG_2057

So much can be expressed in music…that words, often, do not do justice.

DSCN4962

I have been busily re-forming my vinyl record collection…that my mother disposed of sometime after I moved away from home at the tender age of seventeen.

I was listening to the Lake Street Dive, the other day.  I marvel at their seamless harmony and their lead singer’s, Rachael Price,  tremendous voice.

The power of music helped to fuel the Civil Rights Movement.

‘We shall overcome,

We shall overcome,

We shall overcome, some day.

Oh, deep in my heart,

I do believe

We shall overcome, some day.

We’ll walk hand in hand,

We’ll walk hand in hand,

We’ll walk hand in hand, some day,

Oh, deep in my heart,

 

We shall live in peace,

We shall live in peace,

We shall live in peace, someday,

Oh, deep in my heart,

 

We shall be free,

We shall be free,

We shall be free, someday.

Oh, deep in my heart,

 

We are not afraid,

We are not afraid,

We are not afraid, TODAY

Oh, deep in my heart

 

We shall overcome,

We shall overcome,

We shall overcome, some day.’

‘The first eight measures derive from ‘O Sanctissima,’ a hymn to the Virgin Mary that was first published in 1792 and later arranged by Beethoven,’   according to Spiritual Politics by Mark Silk.

I remember viewing a Christmas Production in Shryock Auditorium, many years ago, when the performers who were playing the Kings of the East coming to visit the Christ Child in the Manger, unexpectedly proceeded up the aisle of the Theatre from behind us…singing in magnificent bass tones!  I was transported and suddenly became part of the performance!

img_4958

img_5092

The other Sunday, as Elder John Baker was delivering the sermon…he asked, Carlyn Zimmermann, to sing a song that beautifully illustrated the message he was delivering.

dscn5111

Often our Pastor, Rev. Janice West, sings a prayer…she has a beautiful voice!

Have you ever listened for the music of Nature…even in silence?  Often nature has it’s own musical accompaniment…even if you have to be still and quiet and anticipate it’s melody.

IMG_1088

Or…the magnificent…majestic…peaceful sound…of the ocean?

IMG_2506

952F6A32-01D4-4EE8-BCA0-1A19AFC664F1 3

Leave a Reply

